top of page

10 Nail Art Hacks Tested

Hello everyone! Today I’ll be showing you some nail hacks that I tested to see which ones fail and which ones actually work. This will be a very visual blog post since I actually took pictures for this one! All of these pictures are my original content so there won’t be any lawyers getting involved today! :)





















I started off by scoping the internet to see if I could find some weird nail hacks, and boy let me tell you, five-minute crafts is full of ‘em. In case you don’t already know five-minute crafts is a youtube channel directed towards younger-audiences, and for the most part, has very strange crafts. I watched some of their nail art hack videos and tested 10 of their hacks, here’s the outcome.


#1 Using isopropyl alcohol and sharpies to create watercolor nail art ✔


This nail art hack works! It's hard to see in this photo because of the polish I used. I've used this hack many times before, so I'll be sure to insert a picture from my Instagram where I used this technique.

















#2 Using Elmer's glue as a peelable basecoat ✖


This hack didn't work out too well. I suppose if you really need to be able to peel off your nail polish you could try this. It's much better to invest in some peelable base, the one I use is from ünt.

















#3 Using floss to create a striped manicure ✖


So, I started by wrapping floss around my nail.
















As you can see, this hack didn't work out as planned.

















#4 Using saliva to fix a bump in unset polish ✔


This hack works! I always use it whenever I bump my nails into something before they're dry. Just be sure to add another top coat once it dries.

















#5 Use coconut oil to prevent hands staining with nail polish when removing 🤷


Oh no! I accidentally removed my nail polish backward somehow! Now it's all over my skin!
















So, I added coconut oil to my cuticle.
















And... Okay, it works but why on Earth would you need to do this! No one removes their nail polish backward! If you get some on your skin just use acetone to remove it.


#6 Use toothbrush hairs and gel polish to create a nail extension ✔


We'll start off by cutting the bristles off a (preferably new) toothbrush.
















Then we'll start by applying a gel base coat, and placing each bristle on one by one-half way down the nail. Then apply the builder's gel (or gel structure) on top. Cure and repeat until the nail is completely filled in.
















File it down and wow! This hack works!





















#7 Use cornstarch to make nails matte ✖


Start by carefully dipping wet nails into cornstarch, wait until dry and carefully brush off excess.










After wiping it off it was matte, but I couldn't remove all of the powder. So, I decided to wash my hands which turned it right back to glossy! It also gave it texture from the powder. It's so much better to pick up a matte topcoat the next time you're at the drugstore.

















#8 Use a teabag to fix a broken nail ✔


I think it's time for a tea break...
















Let's just cut open this tea bag and put it in our tea diffuser.
















Try not to spill it as I did.













We'll make our tea...
















And, of course, I break a nail!
















But, we do still have this tea bag...
















I added a clear coat, then a square of the teabag, and repeat. Finish with a clear coat.











And wow! This works! I just filed it a bit here which is why it looks a bit rough. I also finished with gel polish after this to let it grow out, but obviously do this if you get a lower break.

















#9 Baking soda or toothpaste to whiten nails ✖


I didn't actually test this hack because I already know it's horrible for your nails. You don't need to whiten your nails because it's not natural for your nails to be white. Healthy nails tend to be bone-colored, or maybe a bit yellow and that's okay. Don't use any whiteners on your nails because they will weaken your nails! Don't try to fix something that's not broken.


#10 Using floss to remove nail polish ✔


Just note that I had to use a peelable base coat for this one to work. This actually works well but you have to turn your nail to get all of it. It also crinkles the polish and I typically like them to stay in one piece. This really isn't my favorite but it works!






















That's it for 10 Nail Art Hacks Tested! I hope you enjoyed this post, and if you did be sure to give it a like before you go. Follow me on Instagram (@gloomy.nails) and on Pinterest (@gloomynails). Have a colorful day! 🌈

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Nail Care Routine

Hey guys! It's so nice to be back creating content once again for y'all. Today I'm going to be showing you my nail care routine that I've developed over my many years of experience in the nail communi

How Long Does it Take Nail Polish to Dry?

You paint your nails and are letting them dry. Are you impatient? Do you have better things to do? Then this article is for you! I will be showing you what polishes dry the fastest and the slowest fro

Why Beginners Should Invest In Gel Polish

Gel polish is one of the best, if not, the best medium for beginners at nail art. While there are some upsides and downsides that I will be discussing, it's overall a great tool for painting intricate

bottom of page