top of page

Best Drugstore Nail Polish Brands You Forgot Existed

I've been doing nails unprofessionally for over 10 years now. I feel as though I buy a new bottle of nail polish every time I go to the drugstore. Sometimes, it's a brand I've never tried before. Usually, these brands are small with not very many colors avaliable and they can blow your mind. I'm often surprised that some nail polish brands aren't talked about more. A lot of them are better than some brands that are currently popular. Today I'm going to tell you the best nail polish brands you can buy at your local drugstore. You'll never have to worry about little things like brush quality, drying time, and opacity--again!





CND Vinylux

I found about ten bottles of this brand located in the skin care section of my local Walgreens. I didn't understand why it wasn't in the nail section, but nail polish is typically all over the place in Walgreens. I liked the minimalist look of the packaging--and the colors where unique compared to the popular brands. So I decided to buy a bottle; I ended up choosing this one called "Denim Patch":


What I ended up loving about this nail polish is that it only requires one coat. Even though this isn't a claim of the brand themselves, it is the truth with a basecoat. The brand claims that their polish doesn't need a basecoat, and can last a full week without chipping. I believe that statement to be true as long as you have healthy nails that are often exposed to nail polish. You may be thinking, "Bailey, how in the world can wearing nail polish more often make my manicure last longer?" and well that's for a different blog post.


Another thing I love about this polish is the shape of the brush. Not too short, and not too long which is perfect for any nail length. Wider than some nail brushes with a flared tip, so that you can apply with less strokes which is key with regular polish. The edge of the brush is a slight squared oval shape, so that you can seamlessly paint up to your cuticles.


This polish also retails for $10.50 USD on Amazon.


Revlon

Not only does revlon have makeup, but they have nail polish too! This has always been one of my favorite brands because of the classy packaging, unique colors, and the long thin brush. It's hard to choose my favorite out of all the bottles I own, so I'll show you my boldest. This is "Provocative":


A bright bold orange. Soo unique compared to what's seen in the more popular brands. Granted this brand is popular it doesn't get as much love as it used to. With a retail price of $4.65 USD on Amazon, I'd call this a win.








China Glaze

There's no chance you rembered China Glaze 'cause not even I did! I was looking through my nail polishes when I found a rouge China Glaze. I remeber I had never tried it before a close friend of mine got it for me on my birthday. (Which is at the end of the month btw ;)) I put it on and all it needed was one coat... It was truly magical. Here is "Ray-Diant":


Could you imagine a world where a stunning glitter polish only requires ONE coat? This. Is. The. One.


This polish doesn't even need the sponge technique to be super opaque. One coat of this will do the job perfectly. This particular polish retails for $7.00 USD on Amazon.





OPI

OPI is a highly underrated brand. They used to be more popular back in the 2000s, and I personally feel like they aren't talked about as much as they used to be. One of my favorite polishes by them, I don't actually own. I've used it many times when I used to go to the nail salon, here's "Lincoln Park After Dark":


A classic black nail polish. It applies smoothly and lasts a long time. I also like the brush applicator because it's wide and long, which is good for my longer nails.


***If you want to see how I grew out my nails after trying a billion techniques, I have a post on that too. It's called How To Grow Your Nails Out Fast.***


This polish retails for $10.50 USD on Amazon.




Thank you so much for reading this post! I highly encouarge you to check out more of my content both on this website and on my Instagram (@gloomy.nails). This post is longer than my usual posts so let me know if you like them a bit longer or not 😇. Also the prices of these products may vary due to sales/ price markup, but these are the current prices at the time I am writing this. Overall, I hope you all will consider these polish options next time you go to the drugstore! Have a colorful day! 🌈

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

25 Short Nail Art Ideas

If your nails are short and you love to paint your nails then this post is for you! I'll be showing you a combination of intricate or advanced nail art ideas and also some for beginners (but I encoura

25 Spring Wedding Nail Ideas

Love is in the air, the birds are chirping, the grass is growing. That's right it's spring! Nothing like starting off the season of love with some Spring Wedding Nail Ideas! Decked Out With Gems Purpl

Top 10 Nail Polish Staples

A lot of people have a hell of a collection of nail polish. A lot of it is unnecessary, too. When are you really gonna use that sparkly pink glitter with a purple jelly base and a green shift? Never?

bottom of page