top of page

Top 10 Nail Polish Staples

A lot of people have a hell of a collection of nail polish. A lot of it is unnecessary, too. When are you really gonna use that sparkly pink glitter with a purple jelly base and a green shift? Never? Thought so. Here is a list of polishes that are absolutely necessary for your nail polish collection. You are on your way to nailing nail minimalism!





Black Nail Polish









For some, this may seem a bit intimidating, but it's great for making lighter polishes stand out. It's also the best color to put under any glitter polish because it stands out. I'm currently using Revlon's Gel Envy in the shade Blackjack, but OPI's Lincoln Park After Dark is a great one too!

White Nail Polish






The hardest thing is finding good white nail polish. Color Club's French Tip is my favorite since it's a smooth 1-2 coats of polish depending on how thick you apply it. I consider a white polish to be a staple because it's the best base for a sheer polish or even a gradient.

Peel Off Base Coat






This is a staple for you if you always have your nails done. Acetone isn't the best thing for your nails, and over time can have a negative effect on nail chemistry. With a peelable base, apply a thick coat, avoiding the edges of the nail to avoid chipping. Your mani will last longer if you often wear nail polish. My favorite is Ãœnt Peelable Base since it's one of the only ones that aren't glue-based. Holo Taco also sells one that retails for just an American dollar more.

Regular Base Coat








I usually always wear a base coat if I decide to not paint my nails. This way my nails will stay protected and will prevent them from breaking. I know that a base/top coat combo is like a two-in-one conditioner, it just doesn't work. However, sometimes I don't like to use two different products, and the LA Colors works like a dream. If your nails ar textured, meaning if they have ridges or are shedding then I recommend using a ridge filling base from Live Love Polish.

Glossy Top Coat









This is essentially a no-brainer. If you're gonna paint your nails you need a good top coat. I like to use this one from OPI, but I find that there are a lot of good top coats out there. Plus, you typically don't need to spend too much money to find a good one.

Crémes That Compliment Each Other






It's essential to have crémes (solid) colors that complement each other. I have this Color Club Collection called Poptastic Pastel that is perfect for pairing with each other. This way your color combos for nail art are set.

Scattered Holo Top Coat






When you don't want to do a nail art look, or if you want to add some flare to a créme polish, holo is the way to go. I love this Scattered Holo Taco by Holo Taco, they also have other looks to choose from including Flakie, and Linear.

Matte Top Coat






Matte is another good way to add flare to any manicure. I think it looks good over pastels, and fall colors. It also looks great over some simple nail art!

Sheer Polish









Why would anyone want sheer nail polish in their collection? The answer is simple--for exactly that reason. A nude or pink shade is super cute over a bare nail and can be flared up with rhinestones or glitter polish.

Multichrome or Chrome Nail Polish





















I consider multichrome or chrome to be a staple because it's different than your average glitter polish. Multichrome, when sheer makes a great topper for one of the colors in its base or over black polish. It also looks amazing on its own, with a glitter topper, or with a matte topcoat even!


I hope you enjoyed my Top 10 Nail Polish Staples! All of the nail photo credits go to their owners. Be sure to check out my Instagram, @gloomy.nails and click here to see my latest post. If you haven't already, sign up for my email list, and I will notify you when a post goes live! If you would like to see more of my content click here.


Have a colorful day! 🌈

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

25 Short Nail Art Ideas

If your nails are short and you love to paint your nails then this post is for you! I'll be showing you a combination of intricate or advanced nail art ideas and also some for beginners (but I encoura

25 Spring Wedding Nail Ideas

Love is in the air, the birds are chirping, the grass is growing. That's right it's spring! Nothing like starting off the season of love with some Spring Wedding Nail Ideas! Decked Out With Gems Purpl

10 Anti-Valentine's Day Nail Ideas

Congratulations! You're a single pringle for yet another year! Or maybe you just want to try out these awesome ANTI-Valentine's Day Nail Ideas! These nail ideas are perfect for any occasion, but are e

bottom of page