top of page

How To: Apply Knock Off Polygel Nails + Review

Updated: Apr 7, 2020

***So far I've neglected to take pictures for this post, so if there are still no pictures by the time I post this I am terribly sorry.


I recently started using a Polygel nail kit by Gershion, which was recommended to me by cutepolish. It currently retails for $42.99 American on Amazon, and so far I love it. I've learned my skills on how to properly use Polygel from Nail Career Education on Youtube. I highly recommend checking out her video on how to use real Polygel if you prefer the visuals.













What is Polygel?

Polygel is a hybrid between building gel and acrylic. It comes in a tube and comes out as a bead ready to form. Unlike acrylic, you can mold it for as long as you want until it is cured under an LED / UV lamp. Unlike building gel, it comes in a stiffer bead that's perfect for forming nails.


How to Use Polygel by Gershion

I've so far used this kit three times, and it's fairly simple to use. First, begin by prepping your nails. Make sure the top layer is lightly buffed so the nails have something to stick to. Follow by removing any extra dust with isopropyl alcohol. Then, apply the gel base to your nails. There are numbers on the nail forms which are different sizes, so after sizing your nails write down which size you used for each nail. Then you can pick the color you wish to use. Apply a bead of the Polygel into the nail form and dampen the brush with isopropyl to start shaping. Build the nail down to a line on the grid, cure, and repeat for the rest of the nails. Once fully cured, gently squeeze and wiggle the form off. File the transition smooth, and add more Polygel to strengthen the arch and anywhere else needed. Cure, then file until smooth with an e-file on low speed or use a hand file. Shape the nail, then add a gel top coat or follow with polish, cure, then wipe away the sticky layer with isopropyl alcohol if needed. Enjoy your new nails!


My Review

As a first time user of building fake nails, I find this a super affordable way to do your nails at home. It will take some getting used to and memorization of the steps, but my third time using this now and I think I've nearly mastered it. After shaping the nails stiletto, I added loose glitter atop uncured topcoat, cured it, then added another layer of topcoat. Needless to say, I can't stop staring at them! But you are also hearing from a person that's never really had acrylic nails before. Anyways, to wrap it up, I love the formula of this product. It's not too hard; not too soft, and when it's cured it has sort of a heavier consistency in that it falls instead of flies when filed. Which could be a lifesaver for those of you that hate the dustiness of regular acrylics.


I hope you enjoyed this style of blog post considering that it's so different from my typical list-style posts. If you did be sure to give it a like and follow my Instagram (@gloomy.nails). Also, be sure to check out cutepolish they also reviewed this kit which made me purchase it in the first place. Check out Nail Career Education on Youtube for her how-to on Polygel nails video. Thanks so much, and have a colorful day! 🌈

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Nail Care Routine

Hey guys! It's so nice to be back creating content once again for y'all. Today I'm going to be showing you my nail care routine that I've developed over my many years of experience in the nail communi

How To Paint Your Nails Perfectly Every Time

We've all been there. You go to paint your nails, and polish floods your cuticles. You attempt to clean your cuticles with a cotton swab while the polish is still wet. However, all it did was spread t

How to Grow Out Your Nails (a non-expert opinion)

A question I had a lot when I first started to get interested in nail art is, "How do I grow out my nails?" The answer is a lot simpler than you may think, and a lot less work for you to manage than y

bottom of page