top of page

How to Grow Out Your Nails (a non-expert opinion)

Updated: Jan 3, 2020

A question I had a lot when I first started to get interested in nail art is, "How do I grow out my nails?" The answer is a lot simpler than you may think, and a lot less work for you to manage than you originally thought it might be. Most of the information I provide in this blog post is information that I learned through another nail blogger, and YouTuber simply nailogical. So please, if you don't already know who she is then go show her some love on her socials.















Nail Oil

If you've never heard of the term, you're probably asking me what exactly I'm talking about, and it's as simple as that. Oil that one puts on their nails. What kind of oil exactly? This question mostly pertains to if you're on a budget or not. I used to use olive oil as a substitute for the jojoba oil I use now because it's a household item that's easy to find. Other substitutes include grapeseed oil and avocado oil. However, if you're considering buying nail oil from a brand then I recommend looking at the ingredients list first. A lot of ingredients in pre-packaged nail oil are just for fragrance, and that's not entirely necessary in a good nail oil. I recommend buying pure jojoba oil which can get a bit pricey, but not on Amazon!

Don't Over Wash Your Hands

Germaphobes beware. Over washing your hands washes off all the natural oils that your body produces—causing dry skin. If you accidentally put too much nail oil around your cuticles then please DON'T wash it off or wipe it away. Nail oil can get pricey, and when you wash it off—all of it literally goes down the drain. Instead, rub it into your hands because it's not only good for your nails but your skin too! I use it as a substitute for a standard lotion that contains a lot of unnatural substances, such as fragrance, that isn’t entirely necessary.

Don't Bite Your Nails

This one is pretty obvious because if you want long, healthy, natural nails then it wouldn't be the smartest idea to bite them all the time. There are some methods that can help with the habit, such as developing a new habit or using a product that can help. Either way, it's important to avoid the habit.

I hope you enjoyed my three main tips on growing out your nails. Once again, this won’t guarantee long luscious nails, but it has helped me and I hope it will for you as well. Also, thanks again to simply nailogical for teaching me everything I know. Her youtube channel is very helpful and gives me a lot of inspiration when creating designs. You can find her channel here.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Nail Care Routine

Hey guys! It's so nice to be back creating content once again for y'all. Today I'm going to be showing you my nail care routine that I've developed over my many years of experience in the nail communi

How To: Apply Knock Off Polygel Nails + Review

***So far I've neglected to take pictures for this post, so if there are still no pictures by the time I post this I am terribly sorry. I recently started using a Polygel nail kit by Gershion, which w

How To Paint Your Nails Perfectly Every Time

We've all been there. You go to paint your nails, and polish floods your cuticles. You attempt to clean your cuticles with a cotton swab while the polish is still wet. However, all it did was spread t

bottom of page