top of page

The Do's and Don'ts of Matte Nails

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

Matte nails can be super cute and trendy. But when applied over certain polishes or designs, it can make it look dull. Sometimes it's better to use a super glossy top coat! Here are my Do's and Don'ts of Matte Nails!



The Do's

1. Neon Colors












I love how matte gives neons a spunky edginess about them!


2. Loud, Intricate Designs












I love how matte gives designs like this a minimalist vibe.


3. Multichrome












The shifts are different over a multichrome base.


4. Unicorn Skins












Unicorn skins look amazing under both a matte or glossy topper.


5. Solids









You just can't go wrong with a good créme polish.


The Don'ts

1. Holo or Fine Glitter Top Coats








The holo glitter is majorly dulled, and the holographic shift is no longer visible!


2. Holo or Fine Glitter Polishes













Applying matte over a solid glitter polish can dull the color and make the polish look rough!


3. Chrome












I'll admit it this one is pretty cute, but it makes the polish streaks visible and overall looks more like matte plastic than it does chrome.


4. Metallics













Matte metallics give the illusion of a rough texture.


5. Pearls
















Matte topper over pearlescent polish totally dulls the pearl!


No hate to anyone that's in the "Don'ts" categorey, these are just rules that I tend to follow because I don't like the look of them or because they aren't convenient. Also, all the photo creds go to the owners as well as the nail looks. Thanks so much for reading, have a colorful day! 🌈

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

10 Nail Art Hacks Tested

Hello everyone! Today I’ll be showing you some nail hacks that I tested to see which ones fail and which ones actually work. This will be a very visual blog post since I actually took pictures for thi

My Nail Care Routine

Hey guys! It's so nice to be back creating content once again for y'all. Today I'm going to be showing you my nail care routine that I've developed over my many years of experience in the nail communi

25 Short Nail Art Ideas

If your nails are short and you love to paint your nails then this post is for you! I'll be showing you a combination of intricate or advanced nail art ideas and also some for beginners (but I encoura

bottom of page